Ciao! I’m back!

Along the Tiber River
Along the Tiber River

Hello friends!

I am back! Back to the blogging life and back to traveling. I am currently sitting outdoors in this beautiful neighborhood awaiting my meal. But before we talk about what I’m doing, let me catch you up on what has been going on.

Deciding to come to italy:

I wish I could say that I had this long, very meaningful reason why I wanted to come to italy, but the truth is, i don’t. With my work life finally slowing down and unsure what it would look like over the next year, I decided that this was it. This was the time to take one more trip.

Originally I wanted to go and be out on the beach and enjoy the sun and while there is beauty in that, I can easily do that from home. I went back and forth between going international or staying is the USA. When I did decide on staying stateside, I found out that Highway 1 in California was closed due to mudslides.

I took that as a sign that I was meant to leave. I scoured my favorite apps and then learned about a website that offers travel discounts for college students and faculty (and yes full time staff count). Check them out here! The sign-up was pretty simple: a University ID and a signup. Once it was verified, I got an email letting me know I was good to move forward and purchase tickets available to me. It was here I found my chance for Rome.

 

Fast forward to Three weeks after I purchased my tickets ( for an amazing price), a week after I said yes to a puppy and a lot more work business in between, and I found myself in Rome with No real plan, no real agenda.

And let me tell you, it’s been good for the soul!

I’ve been here for 5 days. 5 incredible days! I’ve learned a lot about the Italian culture, about myself and about just taking a moment to breathe.

Since I’m a bit too late in the game to do day by day recaps, I’m going to focus on specific things I’ve learned or done. More to come!

Ciaociao!

 

Leave a Reply

